There is an Air Bubble on my Rib

• DaniDry
  • Topic Author
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
4 months 2 weeks ago #14466 by DaniDry
There is an Air Bubble on my Rib was created by DaniDry
Hello fellow dry meat enthusiasts, I'm a newb to the site and to the whole dry aging in general. After procuring a 28 pounds Rib roast and trying as much as possible to seal it with a very cheap (I promise I'll upgrade soon) vacuum sealer I had at hand. I just went on and checked the meat after 5 days and noticed there is an air bubble on the bag (that is probably all the air that the cheap sealer couldn't get out, also I noticed some myoglobin water inside the bag.

I suspect the water comes from the humid paper towels I used to cover the bones from puncturing the bag, and after checking the bag is perfectly sealed although not totally adhered to the meat due to all the extra air.

I would appreciate some ideas on what is the best approach here, should I just let it be and let it dry as much as possible in the areas where the membrane is making contact, try re-sealing the bag, or just not risk it and surrender this delicious rib eye to a non dry aged future and roast it as it is now, procure a new one after upgrading the vacuum sealer and try again?

Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• RRP
  • Away
  • retired dude
More
4 months 2 weeks ago #14467 by RRP
Replied by RRP on topic There is an Air Bubble on my Rib
Welcome aboard, Dan!

As long as your refrig is a frost free and it is in proper working order you should not have an issue. If I were you I would locate the spot or spots where the seal did not take or whereto hole is. You can do that by carefully pushing the air pocket(s) and listening for the escaping air. Depending on where the leak is located you can do 1 of 2 things.

1) is place a piece of good quality strong mailing tape over the hole. or