• Topic Author
  • Away
  • Fresh Boarder
  • Fresh Boarder
More
3 weeks 2 days ago #14792 by dustydelux
New to Dry aging was created by dustydelux
Hello everyone!

I'm brand new to dry aging and I have wanted to do it for awhile so I have started! I bought a 13Lb NY loin and did the whole transfer into the bag out of the plastic bag it came in. I felt like I got ok coverage when I vacuumed sealed it not perfect the ends are a bit lose and some of the sides but it's definitely stuck mostly to the meat. It's been 22 days so far the meat has turned a dark red and hardened my only concern is I have started to notice a bit of gray ish brown coloring where the meat is stuck to the umai bag it almost seems a bit wet looking still maybe I'll try and upload a photo see why you guys think! Hopefully I'm over thinking!

Thanks excited to be apart of this group!

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• RRP
  • Away
  • retired dude
More
3 weeks 2 days ago #14793 by RRP
Replied by RRP on topic New to Dry aging
Welcome aboard! Everything you have described is quite common. I find some sub-primals take on different hues of brown and reddish gray than others and they are the same cut of meat!
Ron

More
2 weeks 3 days ago #14796 by PrimoDude
Replied by PrimoDude on topic New to Dry aging