• KAMANODENTAL
  • Topic Author
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
More
5 years 2 months ago #5966 by KAMANODENTAL
Coppa was created by KAMANODENTAL
Aloha

Just a question about time and weight. I made a couple of small coppas (about 2.5 lbs each) I followed all the required recipes with time and weight loss. This is my first try . I have been 5 weeks out and loss of a little over 1/3 weight. I opened one of the coppas and it looked good and the taste was fair. My question is...the center of the meat did not seem to be cured and was soft compared to the outer areas. (not cured enough) I did note that there some air in the bag. If I left it there longer, would the cure be more centered in the meat. The colour is good and the outer meat tastes good. I am not at home to take pictures and will try later.

Mahalo
Kamano

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

More
5 years 2 months ago #5967 by Jim
Replied by Jim on topic Coppa
Hi Kamano,

One question: How long did you cure the coppa before bagging into UMAi Dry?
Basically, the salt that you cure the coppa in has to migrate to the center of the meat and draw some moisture out of there before the drying step that can take up to two weeks and the meat should be relatively "stiff".
Having said that, eventually the moisture will migrate out of the meat anyway, it may take a few more weeks.
The "air" in the bag doesn't matter at all since UMAi Dry is not a vacuum bag, but rather a membrane that protects the meat while it is drying in the fridge. Some coppa's can take up to 3 months to dry, you may have cracked it out a bit too early.

• KAMANODENTAL
  • Topic Author
  • Junior Boarder
  • Junior Boarder
More
5 years 2 months ago #5968 by KAMANODENTAL
Replied by KAMANODENTAL on topic Coppa
Aloha Jim